Weekend happenings!

 

 

 

Hey everyone! This post is gonna be a roundup of the amazing weekend I just had!

 

It all started off Friday before I went into work. I got a shake from Liquid Nutrition and it was DELICIOUS! It had coffee, chocolate almond milk, chocolate vega one protein powder and honey! It had 170 calories, 2g of fat, 29g of carbs and 13g of protein! Pretty amazing to give you energy before a long shift at work 🙂

Image

 

Saturday morning, I decided to try to make applesauce in the slow cooker. I peeled 12 apples and cut them is pieces, added some vanilla extract and cinnamon and started the slow cooker for 4h! Simple as that! It says to blend it after but I only had to mix it with a wooden spoon and it came out perfectly! Absolutely delicious!

 

Image

Saturday, I also went to the expo for the Montreal Rock N’ Roll marathon to grab my shirt and my bib! The expo was pretty good, I only bought a FlipBelt (www.flipbelt.com) to use when I don’t have any pockets on my shorts, but there was a lot to see it was fun! When I got home I prepared my stuff for the next morning. I had to leave the house by 7 to make sure I was there for the 830 start. I was really nervous all day Saturday, I had the worst stomach ache all day and night and even on the morning of the race. Thankfully, the pain stopped after 1-2 miles the morning of the race.

Image

Sunday morning was “the” most important morning of my whole Summer. I had been training for this half-marathon for 4 months. It wasn’t easy for me as my previous longest run was only 10k. But I pushed through. I was discouraged a couple times during the process, thinking I would NEVER be able to run that much. The race started on top of Jacques-Cartier bridge and it was sooooo cold. Windy and rainy. GREAT. While I was waiting for the start, I started getting more excited and less stressed which was amazing. We were 15 000 people running the half. I was so happy to be a part of that! The course was amazing, we were changing directions all the time which helped a lot. I had no real goal in mind. I only wanted to finish without walking once. But a part of me was hoping for a sub 2 time. Unfortunately, I didn’t make it. I finished with an official time of 2:06:53. Not so bad for a first. I had SO MUCH fun running the race, seeing so many people cheering us on was amazing. I’m already planning my next race! Winter is coming up here so technically I won’t be able to run another half until beginning of Spring 2014.

Image

My amazing medal with my muddy shoes 🙂

 

To be able to finish a half was a real accomplishment for me. Last year, at this exact same time, I was miserable, sick and unhappy. I feel like this half marked officially the end of my battle with anorexia, and I’m hoping it’ll give me the strength to be able to beat bulimia. I’ve told myself since the beginning of my training that the day after my half, was the day my life would change forever. That being able to run that distance would prove that I’m a strong headed girl and that I could beat anything. I woke up this morning with more motivation than I ever had. Hopefully, everything I hoped for will turn out to be true.

Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

